It’s Getting Hot in Here… Our Love for Firedaughter Clothing

Samya Cochran. Owner and Designer of Firedaugther Clothing

Samya Cochran. Owner and Designer of Firedaugther Clothing

 

When we first came up with the idea to feature people as part of what Ms Fit For Society would be about, Samya was seriously one of the very first people I thought of.  Her name popped right into my head because she is the definition of fitness and fashion. Not only is she incredibly fit but she creates the most unique and awesome clothing. Her designs are so fitness, so casual, so cool – the  phrases she chooses always inspire me to want to be more fit. I also fell in love with her designs because they just send that clear message that she wants you to have fun while balancing everything else you are doing.

I don’t think Samya knows this, but I feel like she has been almost like my “silent  fitness-stylist partner” in starting  my Barre business 2 years ago. She created my very first Barre shirt “Meet Me at the Barre” and many others since, (“Raise the Barre”, “Barre Star”). I also seemed to have compiled a small wardrobe just of Fireduaghter clothing. And without fail, I cannot leave my house in one of her designs without be stopped and asked “where did you get that?” I truly feel like her designs matched the instructor/Barre-loving/fitness-crazed person that I was working on becoming and the brand that I was trying to create. She has inspired me with her clothing, her hard work, her openness, her success and her passion for everything fitness and fashion.

My very first Barre photo, in this shirt designed by Samya.

My very first Barre photo, in this shirt designed by Samya.

 

The name Firedaughter was created while Samya was trying to find something for her own daughter to wear to show how proud she was of her firefighter husband. She couldn’t even find one item for daughters of firefighters. So Samya decided to create her own designs, and there Firedaughter was born.

 

Samya with her Firefighter and children

Samya with her firefighter and children

 

Samya went on to expand Firedaughter to also incorporate clothing  that spoke to her passion for fitness. I love what Samya says about her fitness clothing: “The Firedaughter view on fitness is very specific. My shirts tell the story of my fitness life, and my outlook on fitness. There are a billion fitness cliches- check out a fitness page on Pinterest and you’ll see so many cliches you’ll lose count. To me though, fitness is not a cliche, and I’m not interested in cliches. I’m also not interested in being better than you. You will never see a shirt in my shop telling you that my workout is superior to your workout. I don’t need to be better than you, I just need to be the best ME. Firedaughter women are the women at the gym who are in amazing shape but who aren’t trying to intimidate you. You can go up to a Firedaughter woman, in all her beauty and in all her fit-ness, and you can ask her how to use a machine. And you can ask her what she does to look like that, and she’ll welcome your questions and she’ll answer you warmly. Firedaughter girls don’t need to tell you they’re better than you, and they don’t live by cliches. They do what works and they’re grateful that they are blessed with lives that allow them to take care of themselves. Being in shape, living a fit life… it’s not easy. It’s the opposite of easy. But easy isn’t rewarding, and easy doesn’t make you feel joy and beauty. FD 4eva”. -Samya.

If you haven’t checked out Firedaughter clothing it is a must! Firedaughter is not just for Barre enthusiasts, her designs include designs for life, love, yoga, running, sports, kids, fitness and more.

I am also loving some of her newer design and holiday pieces:

 

FD's Perfect Maximum Maxi Skirt. 9 Colors to Choose From- Casual Goddess Yoga Comfy Sporty Flowy Lounge Max

FD’s Perfect Maximum Maxi Skirt. 9 colors to choose from- Casual Goddess Yoga Comfy Sporty Flowy Lounge Max

 

Fd1jpg

FD Holiday Kids and wide shoulder royal blue eco-fleece with pocket sweatshirt.

FD holiday kids t-shirt and wide shoulder royal blue eco-fleece with pocket sweatshirt.

 

Thankful Thankful Thankful. Wide Shouldered Oatmeal Sweatshirt. Happy Thanksgiving and Happy Everything

Thankful Thankful Thankful. Wide Shouldered Oatmeal Sweatshirt. Happy Thanksgiving and Happy Everything

Leave a Reply

