New Ms Fit Feature: Shana Novak

Shana Novak, still life photographer and founder of The Heirloomist

Shana Novak, still life photographer and founder of The Heirloomist

The concept of The Heirloomist is just so cool! And so is the photographer behind it.  I met Shana in college and was lucky enough to get to spend a semester with her in London our junior year. When I think back and remember her at that time, my memories of her are with a camera in hand, or around her neck. Always and at all times. It is so awesome to see how she has turned her life passion into her work, becoming a well known  still life photographer in New York City, and now the founder of this amazingly unique company, The Heirloomist. The concept behind The Heirloomist  is to give people the gift of turning cherished heirlooms into beautiful fine art.

 

WHAT IS KEEPING YOU BUSY THESE DAYS?

Growing The Heirloomist into a meaningful and useful brand is front and center right now. I also have publishing and advertising commercial clients for my still life photography business that get my full attention, too. I wish I could clone myself.

Heirlooms into art

Heirlooms into art. Shana’s grandmothers silver table setting.

 

What exactly is The Heirloomist  – watch below:

http://theheirloomist.tumblr.com/post/129144136522/get-to-know-the-heirloomist

WHAT ARE YOU LOVING IN FITNESS AND FASHION RIGHT NOW?

I like that there is a focus on mind, body, soul instead of protein shakes and body mass building. Also, personally, my apartment in New York has a new gym on the rooftop…one of the treadmills has a direct view of the new World Trade Center–it’s such an inspiration to run at the sight of that.

My favorite thing is happening in fashion right now!! Athletic luxury. I have always loved wearing clothes that breathe, that move, are comfy… now I can find things that look put together and are technologically thought out. All the big brands are doing it and I hope it never goes away.

Family History into Fine Art

Family History into Fine Art

 

HOW DID YOU GET STARTED IN PHOTOGRAPHY? WHAT INSPIRED THE CREATION OF THE HEIRLOOMIST?

Photography is in my DNA–both of my mothers’ parents were photographers. My Grandmother started me loving the stories behind family objects… The Heirloomist was invented to be the vehicle to explore the stories visually.

HOW CAN WE KEEP IN TOUCH AND LEARN MORE ABOUT YOU AND THE HEIRLOOMIST?

Visit www.theheirloomist.com. Follow me on Instagram:  https://instagram.com/theheirloomist, Like me on Facebook:
https://www.facebook.com/The-Heirloomist-1651027435112101/timeline/?ref=hl.

 

Leave a Reply

