MsFit Feature: Michele Cheowtirakul Braxton

I was so thrilled when Michele said yes to doing a MsFit Feature because, #1: the Modern Classic is amazing and #2: because Michele is so cool and inspiring. I love her story of how she combined her passion of everything dance and movement with fashion, to create for all of us activewear-obsessed, such an amazing product… the Modern Classic.

I fell in love with the Modern Classic the first moment I laid eyes on it and I immediately pre-ordered three of them. I placed my first orders and waited weeks for them to be ready to ship. I remember counting down the weeks until they arrived. And boy was that a great day when they did! In the meantime, while waiting for my orders, I had quite a few communications with Michele. There were a few updates, some fabric changes, slight change in ship dates, etc… and I remember thinking how pleasant dealing with her was and how her customer service was beyond excellent! I knew this was someone who was going to run an amazing business.

I now own a mini collection of Modern Classics (waiting on the brand new Modern Classic in the Ballet Pink color). I love them because you can scrunch them up for working out, then walk out of class and pull them down into a tunic and head right to lunch, errands or meetings. For me, it is a perfect piece that easily goes from barre-wear to day-wear to any-wear. I also am loving how now when I drive around my neighborhood, seeing my barre lovelies rocking the modern classic in my local coffee shops, parks, barre classes, and just walking down the street. My mommy group that attends my Baby Barre classes really loved the Modern Classic because it is so adjustable, it worked for them post-baby and was great for breastfeeding.

Thank you Michele for creating such a fabulous top + tunic!

XxJessica~

 

MsFit Feature:

DSC_0393 (2)

 

WHAT IS KEEPING YOU BUSY THESE DAYS?

The color pink actually… To herald the release of the Modern Classic Top and Tunic in Ballet Pink, we are doing a little project we lovingly call PITNB (pink is the new black). I’ve never been much of a pink wearer, but we custom dyed our signature fabric to create this amazing shade that’s like a neutral color but still very ballet and definitely pink. We originally developed it in response to interest from a lot of our dance supporters. But now I am in love with it and am finding myself obsessing about other pink things! So lately, the whole office is in pink-think, with pink frames, pink images, anything pink – I even got a pink mani pedi, which I have never done!

Aside from the temporary pink insanity, I’m also working with the team on testing several new designs, replenishing the colors we’ve sold out of, and figuring out what new Modern Classic colors everyone wants! It’s so fun talking to our customers who enjoy what we’re doing and hearing about what they like, what we could do better, and what else they want to see. So to summarize, I am tickled pink and feel pretty lucky that gwenyth and our energetic team has been keeping me really busy.

 

WHAT ARE YOU LOVING IN FITNESS AND FASHION RIGHT NOW?

So many things, especially as we are now based in fitness and fashion savvy LA. But two interrelated things in particular. The first is the continual growth and acceptance of low impact, movement based disciplines like barre, pilates and dance as primary exercise regimens. I love it when I meet young, former hardcore marathon runners, cross-fitters or even triathletes who have transitioned to these types of workouts. These are the people that are about results and who are no-joke when it comes to athletic performance and fitness. And yet they see something like barre as totally challenging and edifying. That really speaks to me.

The second thing I’m loving is the variety and romance I’m seeing in activewear fashion, as these “softer” fitness disciplines have taken off. So I love that Stella McCartney’s line for Adidas has gotten girlier and that Net-a-Porter has been featuring ballet-inspired activewear. Activewear used to look like just activewear… it could hardly be described as pretty for fear that it would give the impression of not being durable or technical enough. But with workouts like barre and pilates kicking even men in the behind, I feel like women are more accepting of the idea that something can be both elegant and tough. And that’s the duality we thrive on – how can we make something beautiful, precious and delicate looking while also being innovative and high-performing? If women are “tough” packaged in “pretty”, why can’t their activewear be as well?

 

HOW CAN WE KEEP IN TOUCH WITH YOU?

To keep up with gwyneth’s goings-on, come see her at her site, www.gwenythbrand.com or her blog. For me, I am (sadly) always on email. So feel free to drop me a line at michele@gwenythbrand.com !

 

MSFITS! Don’t miss out on this special MsFit discount code that runs until August 31st!

Use code: GWENYTHLOVESMSFIT_15 

 

msfit_cropped2 (1)

 

Leave a comment