New Ms Fit Feature: Melina Olivia DiPaola

Melina DiPaola, founder of Ride North End and E.T.C Juicery

Melina DiPaola, founder of Ride North End and E.T.C Juicery

 

WHAT IS KEEPING YOU BUSY THESE DAYS?

 Everything!! Haha! Teaching about a dozen classes a week, and also trying to keep up with my own fitness goals and lifting regime. I am working on my unassisted pull-ups, handstands, and arm balances. In addition to the teaching itself, finding new music, creating new playlists and choreography and keeping things fresh and interesting for classes. The day-to-day operations of the studio- from member relations to social media to scheduling and taking other teachers’ classes is also quite the endeavor! We are working on the final touches to open the e.t.c. juicery and smoothie bar side of the business as well. Developing smoothie recipes, establishing the product line, and working with the vendors is super fun, yet time consuming.
WHAT ARE YOU LOVING IN FITNESS AND FASHION RIGHT NOW?

In fitness, I love, and always have loved, burpees. Crazy, I know. In my iron ride class that I teach (part ride, part exercises off of the bike mixing bodyweight, kettle bells, and med balls), we often end up doing 75-100 burps in a class. They do it all- cardio, strength, conditioning. Pragmatic fitness at its best. I also love anything and everything involving a kettlebell. I am also working on some more strength and skill-based goals these days in addition to the usual aesthetic goals. Now that I’ve pretty much nailed the headtsand, I’m experimenting with mastering the skills mentioned above that require great bodyweight strength.

For fashion, I am almost exclusively in workout clothes all of the time. Lululemon has always been my #1, because their clothes allow me to dress for fitness without looking unkempt. This weekend my mom, little sister and I stopped at the Newbury Street store and I picked up the Train Tough Crop in a kind of camo print (I love the styles that they come out with that have any kind of mesh cutout), and the vent-it-out crop in this amazing red snakeskin print. Super eye-catching, yet flattering, and perfect for teaching!
TELL US ABOUT YOUR  NEW STUDIO? HOW DID YOU GET STARTED WITH CYCLING?
Ride North End

Ride North End

Ride is my vision of what I always wanted in a cycling/fitness studio. The decor is both mellow and enlivening, with cedarwood walls, high ceilings (the studio itself is a former garage), and invigorating sultry lighting. We offer ride classes as well as iron ride, which is a hybrid cardio and strength training class where we use any modality from bodyweight to kettle bells to med balls. To me, strength and muscle building was always that missing link in most group fitness regimens that held people back form getting the full results they desired. One of the coolest things about ride is that in a few weeks it will be combined with my first baby, e.t.c. juicery. So the studio will be a one stop shop for health enthusiasts, covering your fitness and nutritional (and caffeine) needs.

All of our instructors have different styles, choreography, and musical tastes, but the intention is always the same: to give you the opportunity to destress and get a good hard sweat session. My personal style is an amalgam of everything I’ve observed, liked, loved, despised, and picked up over 14 years of taking hundreds of classes, as well as my knowledge of fitness in general. I like to plan a workout that is not only pragmatic and intense, but that also appeals to the mind/psyche and releases a certain vibe of invigoration and positivity.

 

HOW CAN WE KEEP IN TOUCH WITH YOU
Visit our website for our schedule and to sign up for classes at www.ridenorthend.com.  Take advantage of our new client special: 3 classes for $50.
Instagram and Twitter: @ridenorthend @etcjuicery
Spotify: northendride , Melina Olivia DiPaola
personal:
Instagram @melouwho7
Twitter @melinadipaola

Ride

 

Leave a comment