New Ms Fit Feature: Molly Powers

Molly Powers, Reiki Instructor, Medium, Yoga Instructor

Molly Powers, owner of Powers of Healing, Reiki Healer, Medium, Yoga Instructor

 When Alisa and I talked about what feature we wanted to do before the New Year we both decided on doing this special one on Molly Powers. Molly is a healer and has helped Alisa and I both in different ways in the past few years. The timing of this feature is not only perfect because we’re approaching resolution time, the time we tend to look for new things and ways to make our new year healthier and happier, ( Molly is definitely one to add to your list) and also perfect, because my son turned five a few days ago and it was because I was pregnant with him that I started seeing Molly. I am beyond grateful to her for her healing over the past six years. When I started seeing her, I never imagined that I would post about such a personal experience, but I know, and hope, it will help others looking for  ways to find healing and balance in their lives.
The first time I saw Molly, I was about 7 weeks pregnant with my son, and suffering from serious anxiety. An anxiety so bad, I couldn’t sleep, and all I could do was worry about whether I was going to have another miscarriage. I think I was to the point of feeling like my worry and stress were going to be harmful to the baby. A few months before getting pregnant with my son, I had a miscarriage in my second trimester. I was devastated and shocked. Shocked not only because I already had a healthy two year old, and it never occurred to me that I could have a miscarriage, and certainly not that far long in my pregnancy, but also because up until that point, my thoughts on miscarriage were that “oh, it’s common, happens to everyone, just a part of life.” When it happened to me I was beyond shocked at how hard it was to accept, I was heartbroken, mad, and blamed myself for causing it somehow.  I knew I had to deal with my current anxiety in my new pregnancy and didn’t want to take medications while I was pregnant, so I went to see Molly.
From the first moment I met her I felt a senses of healing and calmness. I saw her every week during my first trimester and she helped me so much with all of my feelings of worry, and helped me sleep again. In the past six years she has been such a big part of my being able to heal in a lot a ways (ways I didn’t even know I needed) and has helped me deal with some of the most challenging times I have yet experienced in life. Thank you so much Molly and your beautiful gift of healing!
 WHAT IS KEEPING YOU BUSY THESE DAYS?
Running my business, Powers of Healing, is more than a full time job.  I’m a medium and Reiki master and also do all the scheduling, bookkeeping, and follow up.  I’m a one-woman company – phew!
I’ve been a yoga teacher for 14 years and still love to teach.  Currently, it’s only 3 or 4 classes a week.  Please come find me at Lexington Power Yoga. And starting in January, I will be teaching at Barre and Soul Yoga and Barre Studio in Harvard Square Mondays at 4:00pm.
Outside of work, my husband and I spend a lot of time in the White Mountains of New Hampshire, hiking, biking, and generally enjoying the outdoors.  When we are home in Cambridge, we like to go for runs and also climb the stairs at the Harvard Stadium, which is a great workout. Except for yoga or barre, I always choose to exercise outdoors.
 mollypowersyoga
 WHAT ARE YOU LOVING IN FITNESS AND FASHION RIGHT NOW?
I teach a powerful vinyasa flow at Lexington Power Yoga (www.lexingtonpoweryoga.com).  I teach Mondays at 6 AM and Wednesdays at 6AM and noon.  I would love to see you in class but be forewarned; I have a reputation for being tough (but loving).
I also will be teaching at Barre and Soul yoga and barre studio in Harvard  Square Mondays at 4p starting in January 2016.
These days, I’m wearing LuluLemon, Glide, Splits59, and Athleta and I’m always on the new lookout for clothes that perform well and are, well, cute.
In regular fashion, I’ll confess that I’m a denim addict and I love a new pair of jeans!  My new favorite jeans are a pair of skinny jeans by Mother.  I also love the new faux fur vests – a great way to dress up jeans or yoga pants.  And you can never go wrong with a cute pair of short boots.  I love a little heel and I also love Frye boots.  Another fashion addiction.
 mollypowers
PLEASE TELL US A BIT MORE ABOUT REIKI AND HOW IT WORKS?
Reiki is energy healing through the hands. Reiki is administered by “laying on hands,” and is based on the idea that an unseen “life force energy” flows through us and is what causes us to be alive.  This type of hands-on healing assists in bringing the mind and body back into balance and can assist in relieving stress, anxiety, and pain.  I know it may sound like mumbo-jumbo, but it really works!
A Reiki session lasts 50 minutes and the client lies back (fully clothed) on a comfortable table.
I also work as medium, I channel the spirits of loved ones who have died and deliver messages to clients. Sometimes the information comes through as detailed facts, sometimes as images. This information I receive allows me to verify the identity of the person who has passed away. These direct connections are a step in the direction toward comfort, healing, and even joy.
This practice is a form of holistic spiritual healing.
 
HOW CAN WE KEEP IN TOUCH WITH YOU, SCHEDULE A HEALING SESSION, OR TAKE ONE OF YOUR CLASS?
  1. Please feel free to contact me with any questions –
  2. email – molly@powersofhealing.com
  3. website – http://www.powersofhealing.com
  4. FB – https://www.facebook.com/powersofhealing/
  5. Twitter – https://twitter.com/powersofhealing
  6. Instagram – https://www.instagram.com/mpowers40/
 mollybw

Leave a comment